Asian Union


asiau asiau flag

1942: None associated

Now: Asian Union

Description: The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, commonly abbreviated ASEAN is a geo-political and economic organization of 10 countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Since then, membership has expanded to include Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, and Vietnam. Its aims include the acceleration of economic growth, social progress, cultural development among its members, the protection of the peace and stability of the region, and to provide opportunities for member countries to discuss differences peacefully

Established: 08 / 08 / 1967


1.    Brunei Darussalam
2.    Cambodia
3.    Indonesia
4.    Laos
5.    Malaysia

6.    Myannar - Burma
7.    Philippines
8.    Singapore
9.    Thailand
10.    Vietnam


In the News

·    ASEAN becomes EU-style economic union
·    Asian and European Leaders Reject Protectionism
·    ASEAN vows to stand firm against protectionism
·    ASEAN to form Asian Union?
·    ASEAN Union
·    ASEAN at 40: Mid-Life Rejuvenation?
·    European Union provides US$9.7m for ASEAN integration process
·    ASEAN Sets Ambitious 2015 Date for Union
·    The state of ASEAN-EU relations

Organization Web-Site:

Kommentaar Aangedryf Deur CComment