Caribbean Union


caru caru flag

1942: None associated

Now: Caribbean Union

Description: The Caribbean Community (CARICOM), is an organization of 15 Caribbean nations and dependencies. CARICOM's main purposes are to promote economic integration and cooperation among its members, to ensure that the benefits of integration are equitably shared, and to coordinate foreign policy. Its major activities involve coordinating economic policies and development planning; devising and instituting special projects for the less-developed countries within its jurisdiction; operating as a regional single market for many of its members (Caricom Single Market); and handling regional trade disputes. The Secretariat headquarters is based-in Georgetown, Guyana

Established: 07 / 05 / 2001


1.    Antigua and Barbuda
2.    Bahamas
3.    Barbados
4.    Belize
5.    Dominica
6.    Grenada
7.    Guyana
8.    Haiti

9.    Jamaica
10.    Montserrat
11.    Saint Kitts and Nevis
12.    Saint Lucia
13.    Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
14.    Suriname
15.    Trinidad and Tobago


In the News

·    The Caribbean Community
·    CARICOM leaders converge on Belize for inter-sessional meeting
·    Former Barbados PM calls for quicker movement towards regional integration
·    Global recession calls for stronger collaboration between UN, CARICOM
·    Caribbean Court Of Justice
·    CARICOM summit arrives

Organization Web-Site:

Kommentaar Aangedryf Deur CComment